PDA

View Full Version : Which Laptop

coathupe
2nd November 2006, 00:27
Hi there, can anyone help me to decide on a decent laptop for the kids to use as one PC doesnt go into 3. They really enjoy web browsing & playing Sims 2 on there current Desktop, so I'm thinking laptop for Christmas ? I would be grateful for suggestions as i am still a novice with PC's:nutter

Jonny2621
2nd November 2006, 01:27
i have just got a new Macbook, it has an intel chip so will run both mac and pc software which is handy. The keyboard is to die for, its very fast and unlike most pcs, Macs are very reliable and easy to use and are far less vulnerable to viruses, happy hunting! :)

John
2nd November 2006, 02:23
Woohoo another Mac user! You and me versus the world Johnny boy. :D

vegyjones
2nd November 2006, 02:25
Mac's are so 1930's!

Win2Win
2nd November 2006, 09:31
......and are far less vulnerable to viruses, happy hunting! :)

Security issues have nothing to do with your general run of the mill email/web site virus (If you have your PC setup correctly you should never have a security problem). The Mac OS has more software holes than XP. They are also under powered compared to XP laptops for the price.

I'd even say wait until Jan/Feb when Windows Vista comes out, as the Kernel is more secure than than XP & MAC OS. Yes it will hwave security updates, but ALL software does, it is impossible these days to write any code the size it is bug free.

Myself & most of the folk on here use www.ajp.co.uk (http://www.ajp.co.uk) as you can customise to ensure you have the latest system, unlike buying ready built crap on the High Street like PC World, Currys, Mac's.......

If you really like the Mac OS that only 1% of Windows software is available, then you can run an emulator on for Mac OS on it, rather than the other way round. That way you get a more powerful system for your money. (You can also get themes to make XP/Vista look & work exactly like a Mac).

Jonny2621
2nd November 2006, 09:58