PDA

View Full Version : Ascot Punter's Fiver Fortune

Nevets77
24th June 2008, 11:09
Page 12 of THE SUN Saturday, June 21, 2008

I quote, "A pensioner has scooped £272,000 at Royal Ascot - with a bet of just £5. His picks were:

South Central at 11-4
Michita at 100-30
Yeats at 11-8
Fifteen Love at 28-1
Collection at 13-2
Colony at 11-2.
The combined odds were 54,500-1"

I can work out the 54,500 * 5 = £272,500 but I can't work out how the 54,000-1 is being obtained.:headbange

Sorry I am a novice punter or professional gambler. Printed 2 free books from Keith Driscoll "Professional Gambling Make Easy" and "Van Der Wheil Method". Read through them twice but still take time to understand and know how to implement them. The information is too much. It is a steep learning curve.

I thought the article in THE SUN should be something for the laymen and yet I couldn't understand it. Can somebody explain?:Helooo. Obviously, I am new.

Win2Win
24th June 2008, 11:31
I had all those winners as well :)

mathare
24th June 2008, 11:38
The guy obviously had these bets in a stupid accumulator. OK, it paid out but he was a tad fortunate about it.

The easiest way (at least I find it easiest) to work out the odds of an acca is:

1) Add 1 to all odds to make them decimal odds
2) Multiply them all together
3) Subtract 1 again to get fractional odds.

So we have 15/4 * 130/30 * 19/8 * 29/1 * 15/2 * 13/2 = 54561.9.... or 54560/1

Nevets77
25th June 2008, 18:56
The guy obviously had these bets in a stupid accumulator. OK, it paid out but he was a tad fortunate about it.

The easiest way (at least I find it easiest) to work out the odds of an acca is:

1) Add 1 to all odds to make them decimal odds
2) Multiply them all together
3) Subtract 1 again to get fractional odds.

So we have 15/4 * 130/30 * 19/8 * 29/1 * 15/2 * 13/2 = 54561.9.... or 54560/1